Harry Potter: I Love Hufflepuff

H_finalI’ve always wondered why there was such hate on Hufflepuff. I mean, in the first movie the first girl to be sorted is a Hufflepuff. And my first thought is ‘Well, we won’t be seeing her again.’ Why? Hufflepuffs don’t play a huge role in the main conflict, true, but is that such a bad thing?

In order to find out what exactly this stigma is, We need to define Hufflepuff and the other houses. Most people think Hufflepuff as being the throwaway house, or the house filled with loyal friendly people. Gryffindor is for the brave, Ravenclaw is for the intelligent, and Slytherin is for the ambitious. These over simplified definitions are almost untrue. Because these things, at the core, are true of each member of each house. But are there not brave Ravenclaws? Are there not ambitious Hufflepuffs, loyal Slytherins, and intelligent Gryffindors? So I think we need a proper breakdown of the houses.

Gryffindor: The Gryffindor house is most commonly associated with bravery. There is a part people always seem to forget. A Gryffindor’s greatest strength and greatest weakness:

You might belong in Gryffindor,shield_01-5B1-5D
Where dwell the brave at heart,
Their daring, nerve and chivalry
Set Gryffindors apart

Their daring, nerve, and chivalry is what sets them apart. Not their bravery. A Gryffindor is someone who will use themselves as a human shield to protect someone. They will rally their troops with big speeches and a lot of yelling. Yes they are brave, they are daring. Sometimes they are showboaters and this can get them killed. But this nerve exists in day to say life, life when Neville tried to stop the golden trio from leaving the house at night to do that dangerous thing they wanted to do.

Slytherin: This house is most commonly associated with ambitious, cowardly, douche bags. No one seems to step up from this house to prove anyone wrong. Except for Snape of course. He redeems the whole house in the eyes of the wizarding world. But other the the whole Voldemort mess (and a few worshipers of the dark lord here and there), what have the Slytherins done wrong? Who actually is supposed to be in Slytherin?

Or perhaps in Slytherin,shield_sly
You’ll make your real friends,
Those cunning folk use any means,
To achieve their ends.

The part that always trips up Slytherin is ‘any means to an end’. This whole thing seems to scream ‘manipulators!’. As if we have an entire house full of psychopaths and sociopaths. BUT, there is that one line everyone ignores about it being the place you’ll make your real friends. Slytherins stick together and are clearly very loyal to one another. Because of their ambitions, I image the greatest weakness of a Slytherin is not an assumed douche baggery, but rather major trust issues. The people in Harry’s era just don’t trust the non-pure bloods. And even then, the word ambitious is connected to dreamers. Who doesn’t love a house full of dreamers? Slytherins are just especially capable at making their dreams a reality.

Ravenclaw: Ravenclaw is usually attributed to intelligence and insanity. It’s hard not to misunderstand a Ravenclaw, but the house is usually pretty straightforward.

shield_ravOr yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
If you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind.

I have heard a lot of people wonder why Hermione is a Gryffindor and not a Ravenclaw. Other than the fact that she is clearly the type to up and punch someone in the face (less likely to see a Ravenclaw do that), she lacks wit. That creativity all Ravenclaws have that can make them uncomfortably insane-sounding. Wise, old souls, nobody understands what the heck they’re talking about. I shouldn’t say they, because I am a Ravenclaw. Let me tell you something about our people. We are logical. Which means we can be cold and detached some of the time. Empathy is hard. That’s why we have a mutual misunderstanding with Gryffindors. Say what you will about Slytherin, Ravenclaw is the house most opposite to Gryffindor.

Hufflepuff: This house is, of course, the house of the loyal and the useless. As far as most people are concerned, anyway. Never mind the fact that the champion of Hogwarts was a Hufflepuff. And Tonks. Let’s see what the hat says.

You might belong in Hufflepuff,shield_huf
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true,
And unafraid of toil

Basically, a Hufflepuff would be a terrible defense attorney but a fabulous judge or district attorney. A Hufflepuff knows what’s right, and they’re here to help. You’d think more people would love Hufflepuff, considering it is basically the anti-Slytherin. But alas, no. Because throughout the books, Hufflepuff largely isn’t involved in the main conflict. Why? Because Hufflepuffs don’t want to deal with that shit. At Howarts, the entire thing has become a petty argument between Slytherin and Gryffindor. They are used to being looked over, and they’d like it to stay that way. They know what’s right, and if they’re going to defeat Voldemort they aren’t going to do it by getting in fights at school. I’ve always considered a Hufflepuff to be very similar to a Gyrffindor. Hufflepuffs just have much more humility, and are less likely to throw themselves into the front lines. They are happy to be artillery. As long as they’re fighting for what’s right.

Looking at each house separately, it’s hard to really denounce any of them. There is nothing inherently bad or useless about any of the houses. They all have strengths and they all have weaknesses. Hufflepuff gets the hate becasue they seem like they just aren’t helping or they just haven’t taken a side. This is untrue. Cedric was the champion of Hogwarts. He was a Hufflepuff. And his death basically was Voldemort killing everything good about Hogwarts. I mean, everything really went to shit after the fourth book, didn’t it? It was bad before, but it got ten times worse after Cedric died. Could he perhaps be a symbol? I say yes. Because Ii like reading into to everything like that. I think it’s perfect that the symbol for everything good about wizards and Hogwarts was a Hufflepuff becasue, when you really think about it, this symbol of goodness could not have come from any other house.

Okay. So Hufflepuffs are undercover badasses. Why do we hate them, then?

Hufflepuffs are generally the type of people who are so nice you can’t help but hate them and everything they stand for. So, I implore you, throw away your preconceived notions, and hug a Hufflepuff!

I mean, I won’t be hugging a Hufflepuff. Because ew, people. I imagine I will be hugged by a Hufflepuff though. If you’re like me, let a Hufflepuff hug you. They just want to be loved.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

23 comments

  1. “the house of the loyal and the useless” HAHA! That made me laugh so hard XD It just seems like such a hilarious phrasing.

    Anyway, I think your look at the four houses is very accurate and raises some thought-provoking points, especially the idea of Slytherins being able to make their dreams a reality. And I totally agree that Gryffindor and Ravenclaw are the true opposites. I literally can’t think of anything those two houses have in common, whereas I can think of overlaps for all the others – yes, even Slytherin and Hufflepuff.

    Now because I’m a Hufflepuff, *hugs you*

    Bye now! 😉

    1. Thank you very much! Yes, I do often find myself wondering what house random people are from. It’s hard to say. I think it would be easy to say Ravenclaw, but then again, we only know what’s on his blog. I know I can say I haven’t quite uncovered his deepest convictions. Because I am so curious at heart, I must know: What house would you put OM in, and what house are you in?

          1. I would be curious as to your assessment based on our postings. We both share posting duties, we try to remember to sign off with our respective ‘k’ or ‘p’ (sometimes I forget) but our writing styles are a bit different so you should be able to tell us apart even if we do…
            if you have time that is 😉
            k-

    1. Aw, shucks. Stop it, you. Seriously though. Thank you very much. The pressure is on. haha

      You could head over to the suggest a topic page to suggest a topic. You know, if you have anything in mind. That could be a topic. That I could write a blog about. =)

      1. Oh you know, manipulative psychopaths. And the whole “cowardly, douche bags” part. The trust part I’m not too sure, but like I said, we do stick up for one another because everyone else is judging us. And no, we are not attention whores, you need to meet more Slytherins. The fact that many of us support Hufflepuff should startle you already. Maybe because we are so easily judged that we learn not to judge others.

        1. Oh, that manipulative psychopath bit was said was ironically becasue I don’t believe it be to true. Same with the cowardly douche bag part.And the attention whore bit was an attack on my sister not necessarily Slytherins. But I have read back and it all is a bit unclear. Not unclear so much as i sound like a dick. Jesus. Thanks for pointing that out. Sorry it seemed like I was attacking your house! I was trying not to go into all the good aspects of Slytherin becasue then I would have gotten started and the blog would have been more about Slytherin than Hufflepuff. I was thinking of doing a separate blog about Slytherin, too. And it doesn’t startle me at all how many Slytherins support Hufflepuff. They’re the two most misunderstood houses. Most people want to be considered ‘brave’ or ‘smart’ and they don’t put much thought beyond the stereotypes of the houses. I’ve always thought Slytherins to be ambitious and cunning. Which, to me, says crafty, creative, willing to do anything for their goals. But also loyal and appreciative of loyalty and others who can help them. And even then, the goal could even be to start a charity or to help anyone do anything. It depends more on the person than the house, I think. But yeah. I need to fix this blog up a little bit. What, for you, are the main qualities that build up a Slytherin?

          1. Ahh, thanks for the clear up. Glad to know you didn’t mean those things, cause there are some people out there who are all out on hating Slytherins whenever they get the chance.

            The main quality for me would be ambition. It is safe to say we are very driven and nothing can stop us from achieving our goals. And like you said, we can be cunning too. But I think that would depend on the individual and how one acts cunning. Though, I doubt any of us find joy in manipulating people.

            I also like what you said about true friends. I’m an introvert so making friends in not my forte. But I do have a few good friends, and I’m loyal to them.

          2. Thanks for pointing it out haha I tried to edit it a bit to make it more clear. Hope I didn’t over do it.

            That’s why I like Slytherin so much. I like to think I would have stalled the hat with my huge ambitions. At this point, they’re more like plans than dreams. The only Slytherin showed in the entirety of the Harry Potter universe who seemed to openly enjoy manipulating people was Tom Riddle. And he was a sociopath. I’ve always thought if there existed an actually statistic that named manipulators by house, it would either be equal or it would be Ravenclaw. Because science.

            I’m the same way. That’s one of the reasons why I always thought the house system was interesting. Because it gives you a chance to really be around like minded people who can draw you out of your shell. At the same time, it might make it hard to be able to branch out and interact with clashing personalities or opinions. Which is why the class structure would be a good thing. But I know if my Hogwarts letter didn’t get lost in the mail, I would have been that one kid who only talked inside my actually house. At least at the start haha

          3. Ah, true. It would have kept students within their houses. Though I think they would soon learn to befriend others as well.

            Also, lets not forget that not everyone lived out the personalities of their houses (Peter Pettigrew was a betrayer.). So I guess it all boils down to the individual.

          4. True, true. And James Potter wasn’t exactly the picture of chivalry during his school years. It does make me wonder exactly what the hat can see in people. Maybe with some people it’s their potential more than their current state. Really interesting to think about.

Join the Discussion

