The Joker

I’m combining days 3 and 4 for the 30 Day Geekgasm, as my favorite villain and my favorite explosion kind of go hand in hand. I considered Darth Vader and the explosion of the Death Star, but *spoiler alert* Darth Vader doesn’t actually stay a villain. Thus, The Joker.

442886966_640

The Killing Joke

Ah, The Joker. There’s not much I can really say about the guy that you don’t already know. He’s crazy, and he does it for the lulz. I don’t like that word but it’s very appropriate so I will not delete it. You see all these villains who do it because they really believe in it or because they’re out for vengeance. The Joker? He just really thoroughly enjoys it. And he’s not crazy in the way where he’s just kind of harmless and he hurts people but they always get him right back into Arkham. He wins frequently. He hatches this ridiculous plans and they work until Batman finally manages to stop him. And Batman is part of the reason he enjoys it so much. Fitting that the best villain belongs to the best hero, don’t ya think?

I am a fan of Heath Ledger’s Joker. You’ve gotta love Mark Hamill and Jack Nicholson, but Ledger is my main man. So this is a very neat little tie in with my favorite explosion.

421268_462169547139042_1244995412_n

Yup.

I’m sure we all remember this part of the movie, The Dark Knight. I have never so thoroughly enjoyed an explosion in my life. First of all, we have the Joker dressed like a nurse leaving the hospital. Then he pushes the button and is prepared to keep walking like a badass, but then the explosion delays. And he turns around and just keeps pushing the button. Then, BOOM! The first explosion happens and he just sort of jumps and hops into his ride like ‘meant to do that’. I just about died. Let me tell you, in the theater, I was not alone in that. It kills me every time.

I love this guy so much I can’t even explain it. Ah! Okay. That’s my favorite. What’s yours?

7 comments

  1. I’ve never seen any of the Batman movies. I’ve watched a few cartoons, though, but I don’t think that counts. As for the last scene you mention, I read somewhere that Ledger improvised it, which honestly made the scene even better (this is probably the only scene I’ve ever seen…).

    1. AH. When people say that to me in person I tell them to leave and not to talk to me until they go watch at least the Nolan Trilogy (since there are like, a million Batman movies). I loved the cartoons growing up! Okay, that shouldn’t be past tense. I still watch the cartoons.

      Yeah, I believe he improvised it. Like there was a actually delay, but Nolan didn’t cut. And Heath Ledger didn’t break character because he’s a method actor. So for the months they were shooting, he was actually off his ass insane. Probably why he died before he won the Oscar…

      Anyway. Some of the best and most quoted scenes in history were improvised. Like the iconic ‘Are you talkin to me?’ scene from Taxi Driver was improvised. Scorsese told DeNiro to talk to the mirror, and he did. And the ‘Hey! I’m walkin’ here!’ scene from Midnight Cowboy was improvised. A new york cab driver ignored all the signs that said people were filming and drove right through the scene while they were filming and actually almost hit Dustin Hoffman. And he reacted like a new yorker. xD I think I need to do a blog about improvised scenes. I love those guys.

    1. Granted, I noticed that you didn’t actually use the term “super-villain” in this post, but it was in the original wording of the challenge for Day 3, so I wondered…

      1. I’m not quite sure, actually. I feel like in most cases a super villain is the adversary to a super hero, who is someone who has something special they do or can do and use it in hero-ness. Like, I consider Batman to be a super hero (I actually consider Batman to be THE super hero) so it stands that the Joker must be a super villain. Because Batman can never quite beat him the way he’d like to, and even when Batman does beat him, the joker still wins because Batman had to kill him to do it. The the police could not have stopped the joker at all. A super villain, then, I suppose is a villain so villainous and so good at being a villain that they can’t be stopped by normal means. Or something like that. =)

Join the Discussion

