Thor

A belated day 7 to the 30 Day Geekgasm. I am not a fan of Thor in the comics or the cartoons. So, Naturally, I assumed I’d hate the movie. I was wrong.

Thor_poster

 

I was really surprised my how thoroughly I enjoyed this movie. It was funny, it had the right kind of action in all the right places. I actually liked the character Thor in this movie. He wasn’t static. Sure, he started off arrogant and annoying, but he actually grew as a person during the course of the movie. Even Loki was awesome. I also hated Loki in the comics. He was over dramatic and annoying and I wanted to kick him. But, again, I loved Loki here. I loved Thor and I loved Loki and i continued to love them both in the Avengers. I am extremely excited for Thor: The Dark World. I found myself shamelessly geeking out about it. Here, have a trailer:

12 comments

  1. I have not yet seen the movie … but I’m all about some Viking mythology. How can you not like Thor? He’s a god, with Pantene hair and smashed stuff with aHUGE hammer. He was a total nordic-red neck bad ass. What’s not to like ? *curious.

    1. He was always kind of a douche in the comics. He was just really into himself and thought he was better than everyone. Even after he ‘learned’ the lesson of humility, he was generally just uninteresting to me, and still all about the show. In the lore, Thor’s kind of epic. In the comics, not so much. He’s *okay* in the cartoons, and I love him in the movies. He’s funny in the movies, and actually learns about humility and all that good stuff.

  2. Hey, haven’t heard much from you lately, are you still hanging in there? Caught up in prep for NaNoWriMo? I’m starting my own 30-Day Geekgasm in a couple days :3 Excitement!

    1. Oh hi! Naw, I alway cheat with NaNo and just keep working on the same thing I’ve been working on for, like, three years. I just got behind in all my classes. Then midterms happened, then I finally found a job. I’m back now. And I’m pretty sure I’m still alive. =3

      (p.s. I am also excited for your geekgasm)

  3. I’m currently working my way through the Marvel superhero movies (Iron Man, The Hulk, The Avengers etc.), so I’m going to see Thor for the first time soon :3 I admit that I haven’t been psyched to watch a superhero film based on badly-appropriated Norse mythology (I don’t actually know if it is badly-appropriated – that’s just what I’ve been assuming), but I’ve liked the ones I’ve seen so far.

    …I just realised that most of my comments to your Geekgasm posts are me saying “I haven’t seen this”. “I haven’t read this”. I promise I don’t live under a rock! πŸ˜‰

    1. Haha I’m actually really used to people not having heard of some of my favorite things. And if they had, I’ve very used to them shrugging and say ‘yeah, it was alright’ or saying ‘wow I hate that movie’ or something of the sort. So you’re good. =)

      I loved the first Iron Man. I hated the second one and refused to see the third one after I read the full synopsis. I liked The Hulk. I also liked Captain America. Another surprise, since I hate him in the comics and cartoons, too. The Avengers was amazing (I saw the midnight show!), but I’m skeptical about the sequel. I am not a fan of Joss Whedon.

      1. Ah… Joss Whedon. He’s kind of a controversial figure, in the sense that he’s SO well-loved and praised, yet people are starting to come around to the realisation that he has some serious flaws that just do not go away. I don’t get too excited when I see his name attached to something (unlike a lot of geeks I know), but it will usually be interesting at least.

        With that said… You probably won’t much like my pick for favourite sci-fi film ;3

        1. Joss Whedon always has good ideas. The thing with him is he always finds a way to ruin them. And it’s like he’s trying to ruin them. I look at this stuff just like “How did you fuck that up?”

          Now I’m excited for your favorite scifi film. =P

Join the Discussion

