The Empire Strikes Back

It’s day eight of the 30 Day Geekgasm, and we’re just going to pretend I’m not late. Okay? Okay. If you have looked at the 30 Day Geekgasm, you might know that Day 8 is when I’m supposed to tell you guys about my favorite fantasy movie. If you’ve seen Star Wars, you might think of it as science fiction. If you haven’t seen Star Wars, leave.

This is a common debate in geekdom. On one side, Star Wars must be a science fiction movie because of all the space battles and laser swords. On the other side, it must be a fantasy because of all the ghosts and the force and stuff.

Then there’s my side. Are you ready for this?

Star Wars is a fantasy in a science fiction setting.

Boom.

There are space battles and lightsabers and aliens, oh my! BUT, that’s not what the movie is about. It’s the hero’s journey as told in Greek mythology, and as such it features ghosts and magic and a wise old wizard. But, you know, better. Because they’re Jedi.

And of all the Star Wars movies (Yes, I do like the prequels. No, I did not see them first) my favorite has got to be The Empire Strikes Back.

I have this lunchbox.

I have this lunchbox.

Why, you ask? Well, to put it simply, because everything goes to shit. This is the movie where the good guys lose, and I love it. I mean, it’s not like I’m rooting for the Empire, but damn it if they don’t know how to strike back! By the end of the movie, everything is so terrible that I remember thinking as a child, “What witchcraft are they going to use to get out of this one?” But I knew they would get out of it because there was another movie. It’s the perfect combination of funny and dark. And, you know, Yoda.

1465856-yoda

I will not apologize for the size of this picture.

What’s your favorite Star Wars movie?

2 comments

  1. “If you haven’t seen Star Wars, leave.” Haha!

    This is my favorite Star Wars movie too for essentially the same reasons you listed. The Empire, like em or not, are a badass, well-organized group and it’s fun to watch them kick ass for a little while. (Like you said, I’m not rooting for the Empire or anything.)

Join the Discussion

