Favorite Cartoons, Part 1

When I sat down to write this post, I did not realize that I had something like 30 favorite cartoons. I cannot stress to you enough how much I love cartoons. I firmly believe there should be upper awards for voice acting. As in, an Oscar for the craft. At least and Emmy. I love and respect the craft of animation and so I shall now share with you my favorite cartoons in no particular order. A bit of a disclaimer: I am not claiming each of these cartoons is as ‘good’ as the last, simply that I have an extreme enjoyment of each of these in some form.

Adventure Time

Adventure Time

A human boy named Finn and his best friend Jake, a magical, talking dog, set out on their adventures in the magical Land of Ooo.

I love pretty much everything about this show. I like how, unlike many cartoons, this shows follows a sort of story arc. There are new relationships and friendships and they change clothes and they grow older. The show is ridiculous and magical and kind of secretly really dark (it takes place 1000+ years after ‘the great mushroom war’ and Finn is sort of the last human anyone can find) and I’m so into that. This is a great show to watch if you’re into a strange adventure and wonderful what-the-actual-fuck moments.

American Dad 

American Dad S08 720p WEB-DL DD5 1 H264-iT00NZ

The random escapades of Stan Smith, an extreme right wing CIA agent dealing with family life and keeping America safe, all in the most absurd way possible.

I sometimes like this show more than Family Guy. Mostly because I like making fun of the hard right (Stan Smith) and the hippie part of the left (his daughter). Also, German fish and gay alien. So that’s a thing. My favorite episodes are the rapture Christmas episode and the episode about the gay republicans. I don’t think I’d put it in my top ten, but this is a thoroughly entertaining show with absolutely no story arc.

Avatar: The Last Air Bender

Avart-Wallpaper-avatar-the-last-airbender-1365601-1024-768

The story follows the adventures of Aang, a young successor to a long line of Avatars, who must put his childhood ways aside and stop the Fire Nation from enslaving the Water, Earth and Air nations.

This is probably my second or third favorite cartoon. I absolutely love this show, and if you haven’t seen it yet, stop what you’re doing and go find a way to start watching this beautiful piece of art. It has a story, a really big story, and a natural conclusion. It doesn’t just keep going! As much as I want it to, the ending was great. I’ll give a special shout out to The Legend of Korra – I watched the first season and, while the first few episodes only managed to piss me off, it’s a good show. Anyway, back to Avatar. One of the many brilliant things about this show, other than everything, is the characters. Because they’re all perfect with each other. And they change and develop and guys this show is perfect.

Batman Beyond

batman-beyond-cartoon-wallpapers-1024x768

Fueled by remorse and vengeance, a high schooler named Terry McGinnis revives the role of Batman. Under supervision of an elderly Bruce Wayne, he fights crime in a harsh futuristic Gotham.

Oh look, it’s my childhood. I consider this required if you’re a Batman person. And I’m not sure I like the kind of person who isn’t a Batman person. This show is awesome. I mean, it’s not Avatar, but, you know, Batman. My favorite episode is the one with the flashbacks and then Harley Quinn is in it. I like that one.

Batman the Animated Series

batman-the-animated-series-vol-1

The Dark Knight battles crime in Gotham City with occasional help from Robin and Batgirl.

Because Batman, that’s why. This show used to be a really huge part of my life. The look that Batman has in the show, the look of Gotham, the voice of Batman – all that stuff is iconic. If you’re a cartoon person, like I am, You have got to check this one out. even if you aren’t that into Batman. Which, I mean, how could you not be? Look at that face.

Family Guy 

family-guy-wallpapers-for-computer-cartoon-picture-family-guy-hd-wallpaper

In a wacky Rhode Island town, a dysfunctional family strive to cope with everyday life as they are thrown from one crazy scenario to another.

I love this show. I just find it really funny. All of my favorite episodes revolve around Stewie and Brian (the baby and the dog) who have a relationship that the show creator sort of repeated with Ted. This is the kind of show that has about no story and resets at the end of every episode. You can watch any episode at any time and pretty much get what’s going on. There are repeated jokes, like when a character hurts their knee, or how everyone hates Meg, and they make the show that much more enjoyable. They also break the fourth wall a lot, treating the show like they’re actors or something. Awesome show.

Flapjack

flapjack2

The comical seafaring adventures of a young, enthusiastic boy, his pirate captain mentor, and the talking whale that raised him from birth.

Oh, Flapjack. The show is actually called The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack, but nobody goes ‘hey! The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack are on!’ No. It’s just Flapjack. I was actually surprised this show stayed on as long as it did. It was really creepy and strange. Totally awesome, with Captain K-nuckles (he gets drunk on syrup) and Bubbie the whale. Flapjack was really friendly and super annoying and a little bit creepy. And someone was married to a lady made out of candy. If you’re into some really weird shit and enjoy creepy ugly-close ups, then this is the show for you, my friend.

Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends

Foster-s-foster-27s-home-for-imaginary-friends-258995_1024_768

Eight-year-old Mac has outgrown his imaginary friend, says his mother, so he takes his buddy Bloo (a walking, talking security blanket) to Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends.

I love this show. And you should too. Another one that’s a bit off-beat, I appreciate how creative this show is. I also didn’t realize Bloo was a security blanket until just now. This is actually a show about a mother who tells her son that he’s too old for his blanky. Which makes it that much better. If you’re looking for something quirky, fun, and actually super smart, I highly recommending this show.

Generator Rex

generator_rex_wallpaper-normal5.4

A 15 year old boy with the ability to produce machines from his body via nanites is enlisted by the government to stop other creatures created by the same science.

I was really surprised that I liked this show. My brother and I used to watch Ben 10 a lot, and then the one where Ben is older. I always hated Ben, and I didn’t like Gwen until she grew up (I also liked Kevin), so I thought this might be one of those ridiculous shows about some asshole with superpowers. That is not this show at all. I actually really like Rex. And I like that he’s Mexican. That feels significant. In this strange distopia-like futuristic world, it makes for a really cool show. A lot of action, and a lot of fun.

Justice League/Justice League Unlimited

Justice-league-unlimited-04

Seven of the most formidable heroes form arguably the most powerful team ever.

I’ve watched this show since before I was even into comics. I always loved Batman and the Flash and Green Arrow. And Green Lantern. I didn’t even know that the original human lantern wasn’t black until later. What I like about this show is the dynamic of the team, and it’s the show that made me occasionally ship Wonder Woman and Batman and despise the entire idea of Wonder Woman and Superman. I don’t like Superman at all, but he’s pretty alright in this show. If you have no experience with the Justice League, this show is as funny as it is action packed. It’s a really great show.

The rest of the list is still to come. Do you like what you see so far? Let me know in the comments below! Have a nice day.

Join the Discussion

