The Seattle Sound (2014)

The Seattle Sound is a documentary aimed at revealing a closer look into the lives of some of the street musicians and buskers of the Seattle Area, specifically Pike Place Market.

This is a wonderfully made documentary by two students, Ryan Lee and Heather Accord. The film focuses on musicians Piper Foulon, Gary Reid, and Emery Carl.

I find this very interesting. Not because I’ve never given this much thought – I usually stop to listen and I always give them spare cash if I have any. I find this interesting because I have never seen these people play before. It seems I’m always at Pike Place at the exact moment they aren’t playing. My sister actually went to school with Piper, and her family has a doughnut booth at the farmers market during the spring and summer. I find this interesting because this is my city and I really feel like I’ve missed something.

My main experience with buskers is what I affectionately refer to as the Piano Man. The Piano Man pulls a mini piano out to Pike Place and plays like a master. I remember once I sat for almost the full hour and listened to him play. I gave him some money, but I didn’t actually talk to him because I’m like that.

Anyway, take a look at this documentary. It’s well made, interesting, filled with great music, and it’s so, so, Seattle. Tell me what you think!

4 comments

  1. Five years ago I spent a couple of weeks in Seattle and absolutely fell in love with it. This little film captures the charm and seemingly universal philosophy of, what quickly became, one of my favorite cities in the world. Loved it!

    1. I’m glad you like this. And I’m really glad you like Seattle so much. Do you have a favorite thing about Seattle? I’m kind of a fan of everything, but I particularly like how Sea-Tac people talk. There are like five random words we say differently than everybody else, a few things we name differently, and the people in my area do not enunciate even a little bit. We’ll go to other places and they’ll look at us like we don’t speak English. Foreigners will come and still look at us like we don’t speak English. It’s one of the most diverse places in the country, so we have this clustered way of talking. It’s wonderful. xD

      1. I was most impressed with the artistic and cultural aspect of Seattle. There was ALWAYS something going on there. I remember asking the friends I was visiting if I had just happen to come at some special time because there were so many events taking place. They assured me that it was nothing special, it’s just always like that. There is always something new to experience in Seattle! I’m from the midwest and it’s just not like that here. Plus I became addicted to eating breakfast (to the point of being willing to wait in line for over an hour) at Beth’s. Loved every second of my visit!

Join the Discussion

