Vivienne, “Lady of Iron” – The Ambition

Bp9i1msCUAA9xTB

A leader among the mages and official enchanter to the Imperial court, she is renowned as a fearsome woman who achieved her position through guile and deft political maneuvering.

One of the earliest companions announces, Vivienne is new to the mainstream lore of Dragon Age. Based on her character descriptions – ambitious, unwavering – I would imagine  Vivienne will end up in the Inquisition regardless of what the Inquisitor has to say about it.

Like Varric, Vivienne can get just as much (if not then more so) done simply by using her words. She worked for Empress Celene as the official enchanter of the court in Orlais. She was set to become the first enchanter at one of the circle towers of Orlais, but then the sky tore open and monsters started coming out.  She does not believe that mages should be separate from the circle, and this will likely paint many of her reactions with her fellow members of the Inquisition.

She takes great pride in her work, and her interactions with a certain unnamed Inquisition mage can be a little… explosive. In a good way. Mostly.

Between Dorian and Solus, I really hope it’s Dorian. So far, the only Inquisition member we know she does not get along with is Cole. As for a relationship with the Inquisitor, a romance has not been confirmed. Due to the fact that there will be more romance options than in any previous Dragon Age game, I would consider a romance option here likely.

BpoTRlhIAAAB1ui

I’m very interested in exploring Vivienne’s character. She seems like a very powerful woman, and I’m about that life. What do you think of Vivienne so far? Let me know in the comments below!

3 comments

  1. I am all for strong minded women. From her character description she would be my favourite so far. Hope she will be confirmed as a romance option.

    1. I’m definitely very interested in her. She’s in my top five, definitely. I do hope they confirm her as a romance, but I’m so sure she is a romance at this point I’m mostly wondering about her preferences and the arc of her character.

      I generally quite like the portrayal of women in the Dragon Age series. They’re very good at making them something, and strong in their own ways even if they’re timid or naive. I’ve always really like the interplay of Aveline and Isabella, so I’m excited to see what kinds of conversations you can have with (and overhear from) Vivienne.

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. =]

Join the Discussion